Musings about Silence

It’s been almost two years of staying quiet on my Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram account. I noticed that posting for the sake of posting is just nothing. I realized that it is not my job to make other people smile, and I am not working for social media platforms. On the other hand, I am not a politician nor a political analyst. I am not a pastor. Also, I do not know much about the people that I accepted as friends on my Facebook. I wonder, why would I show what I eat? The coffee that I drink? The verses that speak to my heart? The wisdom that I acquired? Most of the lessons that I learned were meant for me and not meant to be shared.

My silence keeps everyone guessing what I am up to these days. I secretly laugh at how others give me a call to fish for information. I also realize how I am no longer manipulated by those who think that I am only a yes woman, shallow, and dull on issues that require critical thinking skills.

I gain so much by being quiet more than showing my opinion to be relatable and relevant. I learn to reflect, analyze, plan, organize, listen, manage my time, and accept myself just as I am.

In silence, those who care for me are made known, and in plain sight, I have discovered the manipulative who only show up in my life because they have no other choice.

I do not regret my noisy days, but I thank God for a forced lockdown that made me loiter freely on my spacious inner self.

My prayer is that may you know that you matter, and may you know yourself better, and may you love and accept yourself in the same way that God loves and accepts you as you are.

Schönen Tag noch!!

Leave a comment